

Annual Organizational Meeting Minutes

Canty School ~ Local School Council 3740 N. Panama Ave, Chicago, IL 60634 Annual Organizational Meeting for 2017-2018 School Year July 10, 2017 ~ Library ~ 6pm

1. Call Meeting to Order @ 6:07pm

Principal/Former Chairperson

2. Roll Call / Establish Quorum

Principal/Former Chairperson

Mrs. Lisa Dewit [LD]; <u>Mrs. Sara Sanchez [SS];</u> Dr. Lucja Mirowska-Kopec [LM]; Mr. John Cianci [JC] (Late); Mrs. Jessica Pliskie [JP]; Mr. Dan Pogorzelski [DP]; Mr. Ronald Yak [RY]; <u>Mrs. Catherine Laduzinsky [CL];</u> Mrs. Mary Anselmo [MA]; Mrs. Cynthia Mavridis [CM]; Mr. Thomas Surma [TS]

Members that are in italics, underline and bold were absent from the meeting.

3. Selection of Temporary Chairperson

Principal/Former Chairperson

Mrs. Anselmo was selected as Temporary Chairperson

First Motion: RY
Second Motion: CM
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

4. Selection of Temporary Secretary

Temporary Chairperson

Mr. Yak was selected as Temporary Secretary

First Motion: MA
Second Motion: LD
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

5. Approval of Agenda

Temporary Chairperson

First Motion: CM
Second Motion: LD
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

6. Nominations and Selection of Chairperson

Temporary Chairperson

Mrs. Dewitt was nominated as Chairperson

First Motion: RY Second Motion: CM All in Favor: Yes

Motion Passes and Mrs. Dewitt accepts

Mr. Surma was nominated as Chairperson

First Motion: TS Second Motion: JP All in Favor: Yes

Motion Passes and Mr. Surma accepts

Each person nominated was asked to give a brief speech. A secret paper ballot was given to each person. Votes were collected and read aloud. Vote tally was Mrs. Dewitt ~ 5 votes and Mr. Surma ~ 3 votes.

Mrs. Dewitt was voted to be chairperson of the LSC for Canty School for the 2017-2018 school year.

7. Nominations and Selection of the Secretary

Newly Elected Chairperson

Mr. Yak was nominated as Secretary

First Motion: CM
Second Motion: JP
All in Favor: Yes

Motion Passes and Mr. Yak accepts

Mr. Yak was voted by voice vote to be Secretary of the LSC for Canty School for the 2017-2018 school year

Nominations and Selection of Vice-Chair

Newly Elected Chairperson

Mr. Surma was nominated as Vice-Chairperson

First Motion: CM Second Motion: MA All in Favor: Yes

Motion Passes and Mr. Surma accepts

Mr. Surma was voted by voice vote to be Vice-Chairperson of the LSC for Canty School for the 2017-2018 school year

9. Nominations and Selection of FOIA/OMA

Newly Elected Chairperson

Mr. Yak was nominated as FOIA/OMA

First Motion: MA
Second Motion: LD
All in Favor: Yes

Motion Passes and Mr. Yak accepts

10. Set Regular Meetings Schedule for School Year

Newly Elected Chairperson

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 @ 6:10pm Tuesday, October 24, 2017 @ 6:10pm

Tuesday, October 21, 2017 C 0:10pm

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 @ 6:10pm (Community Meeting)

Tuesday, December 19, 2017 @ 6:10pm Tuesday, January 30, 2018 @ 6:10pm

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 @ 6:10pm Tuesday, March 20, 2018 @ 6:10pm

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 @ 6:10pm (Community Meeting)

Tuesday, May 22, 2018 @ 6:10pm Tuesday, June 12, 2018 @ 6:10pm

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 @ 6:10pm

11. Adopt / Re-adopt Bylaws

Newly Elected Chairperson

Re-adopt Bylaws

First Motion: MA
Second Motion: LD
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

12. Adopt / Re-adopt Rules of Order for LSC Meetings

Newly Elected Chairperson

Re-adopt Rules of Order

First Motion: RY
Second Motion: MA
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

13. Announce Date of First Regular Meeting

Newly Elected Chairperson

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 @ 6:10pm

14. Public Participation

None

15. Adjournment @ 6:22pm

Newly Elected Chairperson

First Motion: CM
Second Motion: TS
All in Favor: Yes
Motion Passes

Respectfully submitted by:

Ronald Yak Minutes approved without corrections

Secretary Date: July 25, 2017